Winners of the Faulkner Trophy


At the end of every year many members submit logs of their voyages for publication in the Club’s Annual.  The voyages cover widely different areas in home and foreign waters – some are short cruises around the coasts of Ireland, whilst others are long-planned adventures to distant places rarely visited by most people.  All the cruises are treated with equal respect.Each year the logs are judged to compete for the many prizes that have been presented over the years.  The Club’s premier prize for club members is the Faulkner Cup which was presented in 1931

The Faulkner Perpetual Challenge Cup shall be awarded each year for the log of the best cruise on a sailing yacht owned by a member of the Club, undertaken during the Season by any member, provided that he shall be in command of the yacht.  The judge will take into consideration  the distance covered,  the crew, the  time occupied, the  size of vessel, the amount of  use of auxiliary power, seamanship displayed and the  difficulties encountered and overcome.  A description of the yacht and photograph should included with each entry.

Assembled below are the winning logs from the last couple of years and we hope that you will enjoy reading them and appreciate the span of the members’ activities with their yachts.  They may conveniently be printed off.


Daragh Nagle

The winner this year was Daragh Nagle who lives in Victoria, British Columbia.  In his Moody 376 yacht ‘Chantey V‘ he voyaged nearly 7900 NM from San Salvador, up the east coast of North America as far as the Gulf of Cortez, and then with two companions, crossed the eastern Pacific to Hawaii, explored those islands and then headed back east to his home town in Canada.  A voyage not without its dramas.

His log was produced in the ICC’s Annual for 2016 and is reproduced here.

El Salvador to Canada via Hawaii on Chantey V



Alan Rountree


The worthy winner of the Faulkner Cup this year was Alan Rountree for his solo voyage to the Azores and back in his Legend 34 Tallulah.  The very difficult return voyage is described in modest terms but tell of great and courageous seamanship.

His log was produced in the ICC’s Annual for 2015 and is reproduced here.

Tallulah goes south to the Azores




Neil Hegarty

The Faulkner Cup this year was awarded to Neil Hegarty who, together with Anne Kenny, crossed the Atlantic with the ARC and then continued northwards along the East coast of the USA.

His log appeared in the ICC’s 2014 Annual and is reproduced here.

Shelduck’s Cruise to America: Cascais to Chesapeake 2103-2014






The Faulkner Cup was awarded to Sam Davis for his log of an outstanding solo voyage from Tonga around Cape Horn to Ireland to complete his world circumnavigation.

The log appeared in the 2013 Annual and is reproduced here.

Suvretta– Tonga to Strangford Lough by way of Cape Horn


Fergus Quinlan


The Faulkner Cup was yet again awarded to Fergus Quinlan for his log for the concluding year of his and Kay’s three year circumnavigation.  This part of the voyage was from Darwin back to Kinvara.

The log appeared in the ICC’s 2012 Annual and is reproduced here

The Origins Cruise (conclusion) Darwin to Kinvara 2011-2012